England batsman Jonny Bairstow smashed the greatest individual score in the T10 League with an unbeaten 84 from 24 balls for Kerala Knights in Sharjah.

The 29-year-old Yorkshireman hit eight sixes – with three in as many balls – since the defending champions beat Bengal Tigers with eight balls remaining.

He batted at number four in a team led by Eoin Morgan, who was out first ball.

The eight-team contest is in its second year, with round-robin matches before semi-finals and a closing.

Just last week Bairstow returned from trauma to score a century for England in the final Test in Sri Lanka and after helping his country to a 3-0 series whitewash, he flew to the UAE to switch from the longest to the shortest format.

The previous highest T10 League score was 74 made by Afghanistan wicketkeeper Mohammad Shahzad last week.

Tom Curran, Alex Hales, Jason Roy, Chris Jordan and Liam Plunkett are one of the other England players competing in the event.

Other captains comprise Shahid Afridi, Brendon McCullum, Darren Sammy, Shane Watson and Shoaib Malik, with West Indian Chris Gayle opening the batting for Bairstow’s team.