Stroll graduated to F1 with Williams in 2017 as the reigning an Formula 3 champion and continued with the team this year.

His father Lawrence led the consortium that bought Force India’s assets after it fell into administration, leading to the team’s reincarnation as the Racing Point entry.

Stroll’s move from Williams became a formality after that but Force wanted to wait until the future of , who Stroll will replace, was confirmed.

Ocon’s Mercedes’ reserve driver role was announced ahead of last weekend’s but Force opted not to make any communication about Stroll.

The 20-year-old drove for the team for the first in the two-day post-race race tyre test, and his “long-term deal” was confirmed as a race driver on Friday afternoon.

“I’m pleased that we can finally confirm Lance’s arrival to race alongside Sergio next year,” said team principal Otmar Szafnauer.

“It gives us an exciting line-up with the perfect blend of youth, talent, and experience.

“Lance is only 20 and already has two years of Formula 1 experience under his belt, as well as a podium finish and a front-row start.”

Stroll scored a best finish of third, in the 2017 Azerbaijan GP, at Williams.

“This is the beginning of an incredibly exciting journey in my Formula 1 career,” said Stroll.

“I look forward to working alongside a successful team with a great culture. It’s a new challenge and I am excited to embrace this new opportunity.”

Szafnauer reckons Force will be able to help Stroll “flourish”.

“Our team has enjoyed great success nurturing and developing young and talented drivers, and we are very excited to begin our journey with Lance,” he said.

“I would also like to take the opportunity to thank for his contribution to the team over the last two seasons and wish him well for the future.”

2019 F1 line-up:


United Kingdom Lewis Hamilton 



Germany Sebastian Vettel 

Monaco Charles Leclerc

Red Bull

Netherlands Max Verstappen 

France Pierre Gasly 



Australia Daniel Ricciardo 



France Romain Grosjean


Mexico Sergio Perez 


Spain Carlos Sainz 

United Kingdom Lando Norris

Russian Federation Daniil Kvyat

Thailand Alex Albon


Finland Kimi Raikkonen

Italy Antonio Giovinazzi


Poland Robert Kubica

United Kingdom George Russell