Egypt and Liverpool ahead Mohamed Salah was voted BBC African Footballer of the Year.

The 26-year-old beat Thomas Partey, Kalidou Koulibaly, Sadio Mane and Medhi Benatia into the prize.

The Premier League’s player of the season scored 44 goals in 52 games for Liverpool last season.

“it is a excellent feeling to win again. I am happy and I would like to acquire it additionally next year!” Said Salah.

As well as inspiring his club into the Champions League final, Salah scored twice for Egypt during this season’s World Cup, using netted both objects in the match which took his nation into the championship for first time since 1990.

“There have been many good minutes in 2018,” he also added. “The game against Roma in Anfield [Champions League semi final first-leg ] was unbelievable. I am scoring goals and helping the team to get the points to be top of their league. That is almost always a terrific feeling.”

Salah said his aim for 20-19 is”to acquire something with the club so everyone is eager”.

“I try to push myself each day that will help the team win something,” he added.

The BBC received more than 650,000 votes this season – a list for its award.

Salah becomes the first player since Nigerian JayJay Okocha to triumph in successive years.

The Chelsea player signed in the summer of 20 17 to the Reds out of Roma. He also scored 15 goals and made 11 others as they finished 2nd in Serie A.

In his 2 4 appearances, Salah scored 19 goals At a phenomenal start to his Liverpool career. He moved on to beat the previous record of 31 goals in a Premierleague season shared with Luis Suarez for Cristiano Ronaldo to get Manchester United in 2007-08 the Reds in 2013-14 and Alan Shearer to get Newcastle in 199596.

Mohamed Barakat (2005) along with Mohamed Aboutrika (2008) are one other Egyptians to have won the award.

Past winners

20 17: Mohamed Salah (Liverpool & Egypt)

2016: Riyad Mahrez (Leicester City & Algeria)

2015: Yaya Toure (Manchester City & Ivory Coast)

2013: Yaya Toure (Manchester City & Ivory Coast)

2012: Chris Katongo (Henan Construction & Zambia)

2009: Didier Drogba (Chelsea & Ivory Coast)

2008: Mohamed Aboutrika (Al Ahly & Egypt)

2007: Emmanuel Adebayor (Arsenal & Togo)

2006: Michael Essien (Chelsea & Ghana)

2005: Mohamed Barakat (Al Ahly & Egypt)

2004: JayJay Okocha (Bolton & Nigeria)

2003: JayJay Okocha (Bolton & Nigeria)

2002: El Hadji Diouf (Liverpool & Senegal)

2001: Sammy Kuffour (Bayern Munich & Ghana)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here