Challenge Cup: Cardiff Blues v Lyon
Venue: Cardiff Arms Park Date: Saturday, 19 January Kick-off: 13:00 GMT
Coverage: Updates on BBC Radio Wales, BBC Radio Cymru and the BBC Sport website.

Nick Williams will ruler the Cardiff Blues for the first time as John Mulvihill makes 1-1 changes due to their game against Lyon on Saturday.

Wales fly half Gareth Anscombe will begin at full-back as fellow Six Nations squad member Jarrod Evans lines up at outside-half.

Flankers Josh Turnbull and Josh Navidi are named from the Blues back-row along with Williams.

Neither the Blues nor Lyon can be eligible for the Champions Cup Quarter Finals.

“Nick [Williams] is just a natural leader and an essential figure within our squad moving forward this season and especially in this age,” said Mulvihill.

“Their energy, experience and calmness under pressure can be a enormous asset for all of us .”

Tomos Williams starts on Saturday in scrum half along with half back partner Evans, while Rhys Carré, Liam Belcher and Dmitri Arhip produce a brand new look front .

Macauley Cook comes in to the second-row and Rey Lee-Lo replaces Willis Halaholo at center.

“Lyon really are a top Top 14 team using a star-stuffed group, that are hard for a high finish for their season,” Mulvihill added.

“It is a massive game for people and the significance of a fantastic overall performance and result will soon place us up nicely with some gigantic games coming up.”

Replacements: Ethan Lewis, Corey Domachowski, Scott Andrews, Shane Lewis-Hughes, Olly Robinson, Lewis Jones, Garyn Smith, Matthew Morgan.

Lyon: Toby Arnold; Xavier Mignot, Rudi Wulf, Adrien Seguret, Alexis Palisson; Jean-Marcellin Buttin, Charl McLeod; Raphael Chaume, Jeremie Maurouard, Kévin Yaméogo, Loann Goujon, Etienne Oosthuizen, Dylan Cretin, Liam Gill (c), Carl Fearns.

Replacements: Virgile Lacombe, Alexandre Menini, Hamza Kaabèche, Francois van der Merwe, Deon Fourie, Jean-Marc Doussain, Charlie Ngatai, Quentin Delord,

Referee: Karl Dickson (RFU)

Attorney: Hamish Smales (RFU), Andrew Jackson (RFU).

T-mo : Rowan Kitt (RFU)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here