Four backs — Ed Reed, seniors finalist Johnny Robinson and Champ Bailey Law — were among the eight chosen for enshrinement by the Hall’s Board of Selectors on Saturday at the Georgia World Congress Center.

Tight end and center Kevin Mawae as well as Broncos owner Pat Bowlen and longtime employees executive Gil Brandt were also selected Saturday to get enshrinement.

Members of the family of Bowlen, on hearing his selection, video collaborated. Bowlen is affected with Alzheimer’s disease and resigned from surgeries in 2014.

The Hall of Fame group included three players from Reed Bailey and Gonzalez in their very first year of qualification. Those three players combined with 3-5 Pro Bowl selections as well as 14 selections. A year ago, Brian Urlacher, Ray Le and Randy Moss were appointed to the Hall of Fame’s Class of 2018 in their initial year of qualification.

The run of firsttime players that are eligible becoming fitted for the Hall’s trademark golden jacket may not be slowed from the subsequent couple of years, when preceding Steelers safety , former Colts wide receiver Reggie Wayne and former 49ers linebacker Patrick Willis are on the list of first-time-eligible players.

Back in 2021, howeverit gets more of a field as preceding Colts and Broncos quarterback Packers and Raiders defensive back Charles Woodson and Lions wide receiver Calvin Johnson is likely to be on the list of first-time-eligible players.

The Board of Selectors fulfilled for seven ½ hours Saturday before Superbowl LIII, which pits the New England Patriots against the La Rams on Sunday.

This year’s finalists included five defensive backs on the list of 1-5 finalists — former Broncos safety Steve Atwater, who made the cutdown out of 1-5 finalists Saturday and were the others. Four offensive linemen — Tony Boselli, Steve Hutchinson, Alan Faneca and Mawae — were on the list of 15 finalists.

However, the class of Saturday marks a general departure from the customary Hall voting, considering that players make up roughly 60 per cent of those currently enshrined to 40 percent for players.

Both contributor finalists — both Bowlen and Brandt — were both lauded for their long, distinguished careers and donations. Since Bowlen purchased the team in 1984 — bowlen’s Broncos have had as many Super Bowl appearances as losing seasons — seven.

Brandt’s long tenure with the Dallas Cowboys included 20 consecutive winning seasons represented by innovation and the establishment of these origins of this arrangement many teams now use in evaluating personnel.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here