Domestic teams from Scotland, Ireland and the Netherlands will take part in a new an T20 league, which will debut later this year.

Each territory will provide two teams for a group stage followed by semi-finals and a final, with the event running from 30 August to 22 September.

The teams will have a minimum of nine domestic players and a maximum of seven overseas players in their squads.

On matchday, at least six of the 11 will be domestic players.

Organisers and sponsors have negotiated an initial 10-year agreement for the tournament.

“The chance to play alongside some of the best in the business will provide a great opportunity for our players to learn and develop their own skill-set as we strive to achieve full membership and climb the ICC team rankings,” said Scotland chief executive Malcolm Cannon.

Ireland counterpart Warren Deutrom added: “We are very excited that what has essentially been an 18-month project in planning is across the line.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here