FORT WORTH, Texas — Denny Hamlin conquered two fines on pit road and won the NASCAR Cup race at Texas, at which Kyle Busch missed from the chance for a triple header weekend sweep and polesitter Jimmie Johnson‘s career-worst winless streak stretched to 66 races.

Hamlin directed the final 12 laps, and 4-5 of those 334 over all at the 1 1/2-mile trail Sunday, also won the Daytona 500 in his No. 11 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota.

It had been Hamlin’s third win at Texas, his first since crossing both races at 2010.

Gibbs drivers have won four of those seven races this past season, and Team Penske won another three.

Clint Bowyer ended second, followed closely by Daniel Suarez, Erik Jones and Johnson.

Busch finished 10th after leading six times to get a race-high 66 laps before cleaning the wall.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here