SriLanka have left out five established players from their World Cup squad and named Dimuth Karunaratne despite his not even playing a one time international.

Off-spinner Akila Dananjaya and Upul Tharanga, batsman Dinesh Chandimal, wicketkeeper Niroshan Dickwella along with openers Danushka Gunathilaka overlook.

Lasith Malinga was, replaced by the current Test captain, batsman Karunaratne since ODI skipper.

Fast bowler Malinga and former captain Angelo Mathews, that had been simply sacked as limited-overs captain earlier England’s tour in September, are comprised in the 15-man squad.

Chandimal took more than Mathews but was dropped for the 5-0 series defeat in South Africa in March.

Karunaratne, 30, directed Sri Lanka to a Test series victory over South Africa in February but has been then fined $7,500 (£5,766) later being charged using drink driving following a crash in Colombo in March.

The World Cup in England and Wales starts on 30 May, together with 1996 winners Sri-lanka starting their effort against New Zealand at Cardiff on 1 June.

Leg-spinner Jeffrey Vandersay Milinda Siriwardana and Jeevan Mendis and batsman Lahiru Thirimanne are recalled.

While Mendis has not played as 2015 Vandersay, Siriwardana and thirimanne have not played with an ODI since 2017.

After earning three scores with Kusal Perera or even Kusal Mendis place to select the gloves, dickwella has been dropped.

Batsmen Oshada Fernando, Angelo Perera, Priyamal Perera, all-rounder Kamindu Mendis wrist spinner Lakshan Sandakan seamer Vishwa Fernando and bowler Kasun Rajitha have already been dropped after the South Africa series overcome.

SriLanka World Cup squad: Dimuth Karunaratne (capt), Avishka Fernando, Suranga Lakmal, Lasith Malinga, Angelo Mathews, Jeevan Mendis, Kusal Mendis (wk), Kusal Perera (wk), Thisara Perera, Nuwan Pradeep, Dhananjaya de Silva, Milinda Siriwardana, Lahiru Thirimanne, Isuru Udana, Jeffrey Vandersay.