Andy Waterworth struck twice as Linfield drew 2-2 with HB Torshavn in the Europa League qualifier first leg in the Faroe Islands.

The striker netted from Chris Casement’s cross after just two minutes before the hosts levelled through a Adrian Justinussen penalty.

Linfield looked set for victory when Waterworth converted a spot-kick with two minutes remaining.

But the hosts hit back within 60 seconds as Paetur Petersen headed in.

Linfield will be disappointed to twice let a lead slip but David Healy’s team have the edge going into next Thursday’s second leg in Belfast.

The Premiership winners got off to the perfect start as Waterworth connected with Casement’s delivery to put the visitors in front.

Jordan Stewart went close for Linfield in the second half at the Gundadalur Stadium

Sebastian Pingel hit the Linfield woodwork before Justinussen made it 2-2 after the Blues were punished for a handball.

New signing Bastien Hery cleared off the line as Torshav pushed for a second goal before the break.

Hordur Askham squandered a good chance for the Faroes side by heading wide while Blues forward Jordan Stewart was denied by keeper Teitur Gestsson.

The late drama started with Waterworth restoring Linfield’s advantage after Askham’s foul on substitute Kirk Millar.

It was a short-lived lead as Petersen supplied the finish from Simun Samuelsen’s cross.

The winners will play either Apoel Nicosia of Cyprus or Montenegro’s FK Sutjeska in the Europa League third qualifying round.


HB Tórshavn

  • 1Gestsson
  • 3Davidsen
  • 7JustinussenSubstituted forPetersenat 78′minutes
  • 2EgilssonBooked at 33mins
  • 5HlödverssonSubstituted forJohansenat 85′minutes
  • 4PingelSubstituted forSoyluat 70′minutes
  • 9Jensen
  • 18Samuelsen
  • 24Andersen
  • 23Olsen
  • 19AskhamBooked at 88mins


  • 6Johansen
  • 8Soylu
  • 10Joensen
  • 11Petersen
  • 17Wardum
  • 25Mork
  • 26Sólheim


  • 1Ferguson
  • 6Callacher
  • 10StewartSubstituted forMillarat 77′minutes
  • 8Héry
  • 2Stafford
  • 47Casement
  • 7Waterworth
  • 16Clarke
  • 17KearnsSubstituted forLaveryat 81′minutes
  • 22Mulgrew
  • 31QuinnSubstituted forCooperat 83′minutes


  • 3Larkin
  • 9Cooper
  • 12Millar
  • 14Lavery
  • 20Fallon
  • 27Mitchell
  • 40Moore
Adam Farkas