Lisa Leslie has won coach of the year honors in the BIG3 after leading Triplets to Saturday’s title game, the league announced Tuesday.

Leslie, the Hall of Famer and W legend, is the second woman to win the award, which is voted on by players and coaches in the league.

Last year, Nancy Lieberman won the award after leading Power to the BIG3 championship. Leslie will lead Joe Johnson, who was named MVP, and the Triplets against Stephen Jackson and Killer 3’s in Sunday’s championship.

“BIG3 is proud and humbled to have such legendary basketball players as part of the league. Lisa and Joe have put in the work each and every day this season and the results speak for themselves,” BIG3 co-founder Jeff Kwatinetz said in a release. “Now we can’t wait to see if they take home the biggest prize against Killer 3’s on Sunday.”

Leslie, a three-time W MVP and four-time Olympic gold medalist, has led her squad to a 7-1 record in the BIG3, the 3-on-3 league created by Ice Cube.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here