Megan Rapinoe won the women’s player award – ahead of fellow American Alex Morgan and England’s Lucy Bronze – at the Best Fifa Football Awards in Milan.

Rapinoe, 34, had won the Golden Ball for being the best player at the 2019 Women’s World Cup as she helped the United States win the competition.

Lyon right-back Bronze, 27, was named in the women’s team of the year – the only English player to feature.

Rapinoe’s international boss, Jill Ellis, took the women’s coach award.

The other managers to be nominated were the Netherlands’ Sarina Wiegman, whose side lost 2-0 in the final to the United States, and England’s Phil Neville, who guided the Lionesses to fourth place.

Fifa Fifpro Women’s Team of the Year

Fifpro Women's World XI

Goalkeeper: Sari van Veenendaal (Netherlands)

Defenders: Lucy Bronze (England), Wendie Renard (France), Nilla Fischer (Sweden), Kelley O’Hara (USA)

Midfielders: Amandine Henry (France), Julie Ertz (USA)

Attacking midfielders: Marta (Brazil), Rose Lavelle (USA), Megan Rapinoe (USA)

Striker: Alex Morgan (USA)

More to follow.

BBC Sport has launched #ChangeTheGame to showcase female athletes in a way they never have been before. Through more live women’s sport available to watch across the BBC in 2019, complemented by our journalism, we are aiming to turn up the volume on women’s sport and alter perceptions. Find out more here.